Who Are We?

The Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association is an ambassador for the Grande Prairie Region and is the visible voice for the industry. Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association is a non-profit marketing organization funded by partnership fees, memberships, marketing programs and fundraising initiatives.

GPRTA is dedicated to increasing local business revenue by promoting the Grande Prairie area through every possible marketing avenue and is continually seeking new opportunities to showcase the region.

We are a tourism destination marketing organization (DMO) working in conjunction with Travel Alberta as a Tourism Destination Region (TDR) helping promote tourism by negotiating and investing in marketing programs and partnership proposals.

Become A Member

Don't miss out on the great benefits that come with being a member!

Become a Member

Our Core Values


Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association captures the pride and passion of our people, our natural settings, our diverse history, and our innovative industry, to lead our members and region in offering distinct experiences to travelers and residents establishing Grande Prairie & Region as a destination.



Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association is a champion for regional tourism that will engage in marketing, advocacy and educational activities.

Meet Our Board

Jonathan Clarkson

GPRTA President

Assistant General Manager. Nitehawk Year-Round Adventure Park
Johnathan has been involved with this Non-Profit Community Owned Facility for the last 16 years and has been a member of the Grande Prairie Community since his family moved here in 1988. During his involvement with Nitehawk, Johnathan has been Marketing and Promoting the facility and most recently in the last 7yrs has taken on a leadership role as Assistant GM.

Don Whiteford

GPRTA Vice President

Owner, DEW-Line Enterprises
Don is a media and marketing sales specialist who has been involved in broadcasting and sales since coming to the Peace Country over 30 years ago. An active volunteer in the community, Don also emcees for numerous charity galas, and is a tour guide on the Grande Prairie Rotary Bus Tours.

Barbara Shannon

GPRTA Treasurer

General Sales Manager, Q99 Radio – CIKT FM
Barbara has been involved with broadcasting, promotions and sales since 1993. Born and raised in the Peace Country, she has been involved with many organizations over the years: Chair of the Festival of Trees, Marketing for Grande Prairie Stompede and Board Member for the Downtown Association, to name a few.

Heather Coney

GPRTA Secretary

Coordinator, Fund Development, Heart & Stroke Foundation Alberta North, NWT & Nunavut
Heather brings her enthusiasm for community, not-for-profit success, establishing strong working relationships with community leaders and proven track record for community development to every position I commit to. As a committed Rotarian, volunteer and member of this amazing community since 2000, myself and my family strive to see this city and region grow to it’s greatest potential – because it takes a Community!

Kevin O’Toole

GPRTA Director

Councillor, City of Grande Prairie
Kevin has been a resident of Grande Prairie for 52 years and has always been heavily involved in the community. Married for over 30 years, with 3 children and 8 grandchildren, he loves spending time with his family. Kevin sits on many Committees and has been a Hunter Education and Conservation Instructor for over 24 years.

Justin Elliot

GPRTA Director

Founder, East Coast Garden Party / Owner, In the Zone Party Rental
Justin moved from Newfoundland to Grande Prairie in 1995, where he started the East Coast Garden Party. He also opened In the Zone Party Rentals in 2005, which has become Grande Prairie’s #1 source of fun and entertainment for all special events.

Bill Smith

GPRTA Director

Councillor, MD of Greenview

Isak Skjavelad

GPRTA Director

Councillor, Town of Sexsmith
Isak is the President of Sexsmith Citizens on Patrol, a member of the Sexsmith Elks, and an active volunteer with the Sexsmith & District Museum Society.  He has also been a Town Councillor for 9 years and is the caretaker for the Sexsmith Civic Centre.

Greg Gayton

GPRTA Director

Administration, Village of Hythe
Greg Gayton is the Chief Administrative Officer for the Village of Hythe.  He has 35 years of experience in municipal administration, including six years in Hythe.

Karna Germshield

GPRTA Director

Executive Director, Grande Prairie Sports Council
Karna is committed to playing a role in helping our region showcase out friendly, capable volunteers, excellent organizational capacity and the attractiveness of our natural surroundings. She currently sits on the Regional EMS Foundation Board, Physical Education and Kinesiology Advisory Committee and the Cool Aid Society Board of Directors.

Wendy Olson-Lepchuk

GPRTA Director

Councillor, Town of Beaverlodge
As a Hypnotherapist, Wendy offers people a professional, confidential and respectful environment where they can experience positive change. Wendy is also a Fused Glass Artist who creates unique, one-of-a-kind pieces.

Don Moon

GPRTA Director

Marketing, Sponsorship & Online Ticketing Manager, Evergreen Park
Don has lived in the area his whole life, working as a journalist with the DHT, business manager of the Grande Prairie Storm and most recently, Sponsorship/Marketing and Online Ticketing Manager with Evergreen Park. Having watched Grande Prairie grow from a few thousand people to the beautiful city it has become gives him a sense of pride to live in the area.

Daryl Beeston

GPRTA Director

Councillor, County of Grande Prairie
Currently a Councillor with the County of Grande Prairie, Daryl was formerly the owner of an oilfield service company and President of the Grande Prairie Regional Agricultural and Exhibition Society.

Jason Halwa

Past President

Manager, Country Roads RV Park
Jason has sat on the Travel Alberta Board of the Directors for the North and was in past, President of the Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association. Each year, Jason has an instrumental role in creating the Corn Maze located at Country Roads RV park, which has supported associations such as the Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum, and the SPCA.

Mark Butler-Jenkins

GPRTA Director

General Manager, Stonebridge Hotel
Mark moved to Grande Prairie in 2005 and remains passionate about hospitality and growing tourism in the Peace Region. With eight years experience in a tourism destination like Jasper, he is a valuable asset in helping to promote and grow tourism in the North.

Marc Moncrieff

GPRTA Director

Councillor, Town of Wembley
Mark has been a councillor in the town of Wembley for 6 years, along with running his own business and working for the Wembley Fire Department.

James Leppan

GPRTA Executive Director

Executive Director, Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association
The new Executive Director for The Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association as of May 1, 2018.

GPRTA Communications & Relations Coordinator

This Position Is Currently Open 

Crystal Martens Tunke


Crystal grew up in the Spirit River area and moved into Grande Prairie in 2009. From cashier positions to her current position as site supervisor for the information desk, Crystal has gained over 10 years of customer service experience. Crystal originally started with GPRTA in 2011 as a temporary hire to finish off the summer season and she took on the supervisor role in the spring of 2015.

Jenn Vos

GPRTA Administrative Coordinator & Bookkeeper

Jenn is originally from Millbrook, ON she moved to Grande Prairie, AB in January 2009. She has over 15 years experience in Administrative and Bookkeeping field. Jenn has been with Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association for 4 years starting out as an Executive Assistant and now in my role of Admin Coordinator & Bookkeeper since the beginning of 2014.